2020 ACM Fellows recognized for work that underpins contemporary computing

New York, NY, Jan. 13, 2021 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) — ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 95 members ACM Fellows for wide-ranging and fundamental contributions in areas including artificial intelligence, cloud computing, computer graphics, computational biology, data science, human-computer interaction, software engineering, theoretical computer science, and virtual reality, among other areas. The accomplishments of the 2020 ACM Fellows have driven innovations that ushered in significant improvements across many areas of technology, industry, and personal life.The ACM Fellows program recognizes the top 1% of ACM Members for their outstanding accomplishments in computing and information technology and/or outstanding service to ACM and the larger computing community. Fellows are nominated by their peers, with nominations reviewed by a distinguished selection committee.“This year our task in selecting the 2020 Fellows was a little more challenging, as we had a record number of nominations from around the world,” explained ACM President Gabriele Kotsis. “The 2020 ACM Fellows have demonstrated excellence across many disciplines of computing. These men and women have made pivotal contributions to technologies that are transforming whole industries, as well as our personal lives. We fully expect that these new ACM Fellows will continue to be in the vanguard of their respective fields.” Underscoring ACM’s global reach, the 2020 Fellows represent universities, corporations and research centers in Australia, Austria, Canada, China, Germany, Israel, Japan, The Netherlands, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, the United Kingdom, and the United States.The contributions of the 2020 Fellows run the gamut of the computing field―including algorithms, networks, computer architecture, robotics, distributed systems, software development, wireless systems, and web science–to name a few.  Additional information about the 2020 ACM Fellows, as well as previously named ACM Fellows, is available through the ACM Fellows site.2020 ACM FellowsDaniel J. AbadiUniversity of MarylandFor contributions to distributed databases, column-store databases, deterministic databases, graph databases, and stream databases James AllanUniversity of Massachusetts AmherstFor contributions to information retrieval, including topic detection and tracking Srinivas AluruGeorgia Institute of TechnologyFor contributions to parallel methods in computational biology and leadership in data science Andrea C. Arpaci-DusseauUniversity of WisconsinFor contributions to storage and computer systems Remzi Arpaci-DusseauUniversity of WisconsinFor contributions to storage and computer systems Suman BanerjeeUniversity of Wisconsin-MadisonFor contributions to design, implementation, and tools of wireless systems. Manuel BlumCarnegie Mellon UniversityFor contributions to the foundations of computational complexity theory and its application to cryptography and program checking Lionel BriandUniversity of Ottawa and University of LuxembourgFor contributions to automated software testing David BrooksHarvard UniversityFor contributions to software and hardware design for power-efficient computer architectures Ran CanettiBoston UniversityFor contributions to cryptography and computer security John CannyUniversity of California, BerkeleyFor contributions in robotics, machine perception, human-computer interaction, and ubiquitous computing Anantha ChandrakasanMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyFor energy-efficient design methodologies and circuits that enabled ultralow-power wireless sensors and computing devices Yao-Wen ChangNational Taiwan UniversityFor contributions to algorithmic electronic design automation Moses CharikarStanford UniversityFor design of efficient algorithmic techniques for big data, hashing, approximation algorithms, and metric embeddings Yiran ChenDuke UniversityFor contributions to nonvolatile memory technologies Graham R. CormodeUniversity of WarwickFor contributions to data summarization and privacy enabling data management and analysis Patrick CousotNew York UniversityFor contributions to programming languages through the invention and development of abstract interpretation Mathieu DesbrunInria/Ecole Polytechnique/California Institute of Technology For contributions to geometry processing and discrete differential geometry Whitfield DiffieFindora Advanced Research Center
For the invention of asymmetric public-key cryptography and the promulgation of a practical cryptographic key-exchange method
 Bonnie J. DorrInstitute for Human and Machine CognitionFor human-centered and linguistically inspired approaches to natural language processing Nicholas DuffieldTexas A&M UniversityFor contributions to network measurement and analysis. Alan EdelmanMassachusetts Institute of TechnologyFor contributions to algorithms and languages for numerical and scientific computing Thomas EiterTU WienFor contributions to knowledge representation and reasoning, logic programming, and declarative problem solving Cormac FlanaganUniversity of California, Santa CruzFor contributions to static and dynamic program debugging and verification methods 
Jodi ForlizziCarnegie Mellon UniversityFor contributions to design research in human-computer interaction Dieter FoxUniversity of WashingtonFor contributions to probabilistic state estimation, RGB-D perception, and learning for robotics and computer vision Sanjay GhemawatGoogleFor contributions to distributed systems design Antonio GonzalezUniversitat Politecnica de CatalunyaFor contributions to the design of energy-efficient and resilient computer architectures. Andrew D. GordonMicrosoft Research and University of EdinburghFor contributions to programming languages: their principles, logic, usability, and trustworthiness Steven GribbleGoogleFor contributions to virtualization technology across clusters, servers, and networks Susanne E. HambruschPurdue UniversityFor research and leadership contributions to computer science education. Martin HellmanStanford University
For the invention of asymmetric public-key cryptography and the promulgation of a practical cryptographic key-exchange method
 Nicholas HighamUniversity of ManchesterFor contributions to numerical linear algebra, numerical stability analysis, and communication of mathematics C. Anthony (“Tony”) R. HoareUniversity of CambridgeFor contributions to the theory of programming, and its application to the practice of engineering of software. Holger H. HoosUniversiteit LeidenFor contributions to automated algorithm selection and configuration for optimization and machine learning Ihab F. IlyasUniversity of WaterlooFor contributions to data cleaning and data integration Lizy Kurian JohnUniversity of Texas at AustinFor contributions to the design, modeling and benchmarking of computer architectures Joost-Pieter KatoenRWTH Aachen UniversityFor contributions to model checking of software and probabilistic systems Nam Sung KimUniversity of IllinoisFor contributions to design and modeling of power-efficient computer architecturesSven KoenigUniversity of Southern CaliforniaFor contributions to artificial intelligence, including heuristic search and multi-agent coordination David KotzDartmouth CollegeFor contributions to the security, privacy, and usability of mobile systems Arvind KrishnamurthyUniversity of WashingtonFor contributions to networks and distributed computer systems Ravi KumarGoogle Research
For contributions to web science modeling, analytics, and algorithms
 Zhou KunZhejiang UniversityFor contributions to computer graphics
Wall St Business News, Latest and Up-to-date Business Stories from Newsmakers of Tomorrow

Wall Street Business News

Start typing and press Enter to search